African Continental Free Trade Area: Africa’s milestone trade policy


The UN Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) on Monday said that the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) agreement is one of Africa’s milestone trade policy that would serve as an imputes towards transforming Africa’s future development.

“The AfCFTA is one of the milestone trade policy developments in Africa which is expected to change the way Africa does trade and catalyse transformation in a way trade policy has not done before,” the ECA said in a statement on Monday.

A total of 49 of the AU’s 55 member states have so far signed the AfCFTA agreement, and 13 countries have ratified it, while 12 others are in advanced stages of obtaining parliamentary approval for ratification, according to the AU.

A minimum of 22 ratifications are required for the AfCFTA to come into force

Source/ Picture source: